5 Best Headlamps for Trail Running & Ultrarunning in 2020 (So Far)

This concise list of the 5 best headlamps for trail running will help you decide which one to buy, based on your individual requirements.

Chirp Wheel Review: How Well Does It Relieve Back Pain?

In this Chirp Wheel review, we cover the key features, pros, cons and our thoughts on using this back pain relief wheel to relieve tension in our aching backs.

FitTrack Scale Review: The Best Home Smart Scale Available?

Full review of the Fit Track scale, a home smart scale proven to provide accurate tracking of body composition metrics such as weight, BMI and body fat.

5 Best Waterproof Trail Running Shoes in 2020 (so far…)

This concise list of the 5 best waterproof trail running shoes will help you decide which ones to buy, based on your individual requirements.

5 Best Waterproof Running Jackets for Trail Running & Ultrarunning in 2020

This concise list of the 5 best waterproof running jackets will help you decide which jacket to buy for your Winter trail running adventures.

Best GPS Watches for Ultrarunning & Trail Running in 2020

Ultrarunners have a very specific set of requirements when it comes to buying a GPS running watch. Our shortlist of top GPS running watches will help you decide which one is best for you.

FitTrack Scale Review: The Best Home Smart Scale Available?

A smart scale measures your body weight, body fat, BMI and more, and then syncs this data with your smartphone via Bluetooth so you can track your body weight, fat and other composition metrics on a daily basis via an app. The FitTrack Scale has been proven by independent research to track these metrics within 3% of the accuracy of a DEXA scanner, making it quite possibly the best smart scale available today for in-home use. This FitTrack Scale review (aka ‘FitTrack Dara Scale’) details what this smart scale can do including the metics it can track, how to use it and also its benefits.


FitTrack Scale Review: Table of Contents


What is a smart scale and how does the FitTrack Dara scale work?

A smart body scale is a bathroom scale that measures not just your weight, but other body composition metrics, and has the capability to sync them to a smartphone app or site that records the data and allows you to track it over time.

The FitTrack smart scale works by sending small electrical signals through your body when you stand on it. These pass quickly through water and meet resistance when going through body fat tissue. The resistance is measured and used to calculate your body composition measurements.


FitTrack Scale Review trail and kale web wm 2

Benefits of the FitTrack smart scale

The key benefit of these smart scales is that the FitTrack Dara offers reliable tracking of weight, BMI and other body metrics, and so it helps keep you accountable and measuring progress against personal goals. It’s great being able to easily see your body composition metrics on your smartphone app, which syncs automatically with the scale each time you step on it to weigh yourself (assuming your phone is within Bluetooth range).


What body metrics does the FitTrack scale measure?

FitTrack Scale Review trail and kale web wm 1
It’s important to make sure you have the app open and see the app say connected at the top before standing on the scales. This is all a very fast process.

I’ve listed below all the body metrics this smart scale tracks and records in the FitTrack smartphone app:

  1. Weight – Accurate to +/- 300grams
  2. BMI (body mass index)
  3. BFP (body fat percentage)
  4. Muscle rate (percentage)
  5. Body water (percentage) – Maintain optimal levels of hydration every day
  6. Bone mass – Discover your body’s foundational composition
  7. BMR (basal metabolic rate)
  8. Protein rate
  9. Metabolic age
  10. Visceral fat index
  11. Subcutaneous fat
  12. Standard weight – Ideal weight
  13. Weight control – The difference between your actual and standard weight)
  14. Fat mass – Get a clearer picture of your overall health
  15. Weight without fat
  16. Muscle mass – Understand if you’re losing fat, gaining strength, or both
  17. Protein mass

The app explains how each of these rates is calculated and where applicable tracks them against the preset low, standard and high levels for someone of your profile (taking into account factors such as your age, gender and height).


FitTrackScience TrackProgress 1728x
Customized with your goals in mind, The FitTrack Dara scale can keep you on track and fast-track your fitness journey.

How do you use the FitTrack scale with the app?

Once set up, have your phone with the FitTrack app open within Bluetooth range of the scale (within a few feet is ideal). Then stand on the scale to measure your weight and other metrics. The scale and app will automatically sync your body composition measurements within a few seconds – the app will tell you when it’s done and you can then step off the scale. The whole process only takes a few seconds to complete which is impressive.


Using the FitTrack smart scale – other FAQs

  • How much weight can the FitTrack scale support? According to their website, up to 400lb / 181kg
  • Does the FitTrack sync with other health apps? Yes! FitTrack data can be synced directly with Apple Health, Google Health and other health tracking apps.
  • How many people can use the FitTrack scale? This smart scale can have up to eight registered users at any one time, including children.

FitTrack Scale Review trail and kale web wm 4

Is the FitTrack Dara the best smart scale available?

To truly answer this question we would have had to have tested FitTrack scale’s competitors – our past experience of smart scales is using our older Fitbit Aria Scale, and I can tell you that the FitTrack smart scale is much smaller and easier to set up and use than the Aria.

I can, however, say that if you are looking for a compact smart scale that is easy to use and reliably tracks your weight, BMI and a range of other interesting body metrics via an app, the FitTrack Dara scale is most likely what you’re looking for.




Where to buy the FitTrack smart scale

I have heard of reports of Fittrack struggling to meet demand appropriately on their own online store so I recommend buying these scales from Amazon.com.

Amazon price tracked daily below:

Plexus Co. (dba Chirp)
Plexus Co. (dba Chirp)
Plexus Co. (dba Chirp)
Plexus Co. (dba Chirp)
amazon.com Amazon.com $89.95
1 new from $89.95
See Deal
fittrack.com Fittrack.com $89.95 See Deal
Last Amazon price update was: 21st September 2020 10:02 pm

FitTrack Dara Smart BMI Digital Scale - Measure Weight and Body Fat - Most Accurate Bluetooth Glass Bathroom Scale, FitTrack

Price: $89.95
as of 21st September 2020 10:02 pm  
See Deal
Amazon.com
Wait For A Price Drop

Price History

Statistics

Current Price $89.95 21st September 2020
Highest Price $89.95 22nd July 2020
Lowest Price $89.45 21st July 2020
Since 21st July 2020

Last price changes

$89.95 22nd July 2020
$89.45 21st July 2020

FitTrack Scale Review Summary

FitTrack Scale Review Trail and Kale
FitTrack Scale Review
Scale Design & Function
9.5
App Functionality & Ease of Use
8.8
Performance & Reliability
9.5
Value For Money
9
PROS
Very useful being able to monitor and track so many different body metrics. More data is better data after all.
Very easy to use the app and scales
The scales are very compact which is great as they don't get in the way or take up too much floor space
CONS
If you have very large feet, the scales may seem too small for you.
9.2
Overall Score

I hope you enjoyed reading this FitTrack scale review, and that it helps solidify your decision on whether or not to buy them. Based on the scale’s quality, functionality, low price point, and other glowing reviews, I say BUY. If you have a question about these scales, please leave it in the comments below, I usually reply within a few hours.


24 COMMENTS

  1. Do not buy direct from FitTrack! I ordered one 30 days ago and it still hasn’t arrived. Many similar experiences on the Better Business Bureau site.

  2. We ordered directly from them. Buyer beware, you cannot return a scale. The scale is neat, and works well. The watches, not so much. I’d order from Amazon, not the FT website.

  3. ordered my scales over 6 weeks ago and still not here and heard nothing from them in ages… think they are literally not even in business anymore

  4. Same than other experiences, ordered the scale 6 weeks ago, emailed the company but they are keeping silent. Plus informing to check on Amazon is not good enough.

    • Hi Laure,

      Thanks for sharing that you too have had the same issues with the FitTrack Store. We aren’t a supply chain for FitTrack, we are independent bloggers offering our readers valuable information for free. I’m not sure what else you’re expecting other than an alternative to where you can buy it. If you’ve got a problem with FitTrack’s customer service, take it up with them.

      -Alastair

  5. Ordered mine 3 weeks ago and they said it would be delayed due to COVID….and it arrived early! So far it’s been a breeze to set up. I’m loving the watch. So excited to see what this new self-honor toy brings to my goals.

  6. Mine arrived last weekend, 7 weeks after ordering it directly from them. During that time I emailed them 4 times asking for an update and got no replies!
    I’m not sure I understand all the readings and the online material doesn’t explain them. The scales may be good but the support is shocking!

  7. I lost 8.6 lbs since last week and my Fit Track app won’t show my new weight and my new statistics. It kept asking me to verify that I am the correct user. How I do fix this? There is no option on the app to correct my current weight.

  8. I ordered fro fit track direct. It said will be delivered between 12 and 14th, it arrived on 15th. So took 5 days in all. Very happy with the process. There is also promotions for 15 to 20% off. Well worth a look

  9. Love the idea of this scale…however–in practice–not so great. Every single day for the past 5 days it has shown my weight at the same amount–to the ounce!!! and body composition info doesnt change either! yes–it is connected via bluetooth and phone is a foot away. When i get on the scale it “thinks” and then gets to the recorded weight etc. EXACTLY the same daily? I don’t think so!

  10. Please help me understand how I can get a starting date and ending date it doesn’t seem to work. Do you have a manual that would explain this to me I do love the scale but I am having trouble just dealing with a few of the minor things

  11. We bought the FitTrack Dara scale and I have the Atria watch. We like both.

    The scale read accurate at first and then started reading about 10 lbs too high. My wife notice one of the feet on the bottom of the scale were some how not level and said she pushed on it and all of a sudden it now reads accurately again.

    On the FitTrack Pro app (scale only) I found a way to delete individual weight measurements. However, on the FitTrack Health app (Scale and watch) I can not figure out how to delete and individual weight measurements. Do you know if that can be done?

    Also, I could not even figure out how to delete or clear all data from my account in the FitTrack Health app.

    Any help would be appreciated!

    • To clear all data, try completely removing the app from you phone, and reinstalling it. Regarding deleting 1 individual weight, I’m not sure how that’s possible – have you tried contacting the FitTrack support?

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Helen
Helenhttps://www.trailandkale.com
Hi, I’m Helen, one of Trail & Kale's founders. Things that bring us joy are spending time together running, hiking and adventuring in beautiful places around the World, working towards be more self-sustainable and living a healthy, plant-based lifestyle. We changed our lives to realize our dreams and share advice on how you can do the same.

Don't Miss Out!

Subscribe to our Newsletter to get more trail running & outdoor adventure advice, gear reviews, and inspiration delivered straight to your inbox.

- Advertisement -

TRENDING NOW

5 Best Headlamps for Trail Running & Ultrarunning in 2020 (So Far)

This concise list of the 5 best headlamps for trail running will help you decide which one to buy, based on your individual requirements.

Chirp Wheel Review: How Well Does It Relieve Back Pain?

In this Chirp Wheel review, we cover the key features, pros, cons and our thoughts on using this back pain relief wheel to relieve tension in our aching backs.

FitTrack Scale Review: The Best Home Smart Scale Available?

Full review of the Fit Track scale, a home smart scale proven to provide accurate tracking of body composition metrics such as weight, BMI and body fat.

5 Best Waterproof Trail Running Shoes in 2020 (so far…)

This concise list of the 5 best waterproof trail running shoes will help you decide which ones to buy, based on your individual requirements.

5 Best Waterproof Running Jackets for Trail Running & Ultrarunning in 2020

This concise list of the 5 best waterproof running jackets will help you decide which jacket to buy for your Winter trail running adventures.

Best On Running Shoes Ranked With Reviews 2020: Ultimate Buyers Guide

The ULTIMATE 'Best of' list for On running shoes (Trail & Road), ranked & reviewed. Find out which On running shoes are best for YOU in 2019!

latest Gear Reviews/Guides

BioLite HeadLamp 750 Review: Editor’s Choice Award Winner, Here’s Why…

This BioLite HeadLamp 750 review covers the key features of this high-performance headlamp, my loves/dislikes, and how it performs while ultrarunning and hiking.

5 Best Waterproof Trail Running Shoes in 2020 (so far…)

This concise list of the 5 best waterproof trail running shoes will help you decide which ones to buy, based on your individual requirements.

The Best Labor Day Sales For Trail Runners & Hikers 2020

Here's a round up of the best Labor Day sales for trail runners and hikers in 2020 - Epic deals of up to 50% of awesome outdoor gear!

Viakix Review: Elegant & Affordable Women’s Hiking Sandals

This Viakix review features the Acadia Women's Hiking Sandals, which are designed to handle everything from hiking to watersports as well as everyday wear.

Nike Trail Running Shoes Compared in 2020: Which Are Best?

Everything you need to know about the Nike Trail running shoes collection in 2020. Find out now which one of the 4 Nike Trail shoes are best!

NIKE Wildhorse 6 Review – Everything You Need To Know Before Buying!

In this Nike Wildhorse 6 Review, you will learn everything there is to know about the latest version of these Nike trail running shoes.